Saturday, September 5, 2015

Norah Paige, 12 Months

Welp Peatie Pie, you're the big 12 months old. I started to say "I can't believe you're one"… but really I can. That's because I can't remember what life was like before you really, so it's hard to imagine that there was ever a time before you were part of our family. You're truly my best friend. We eat all our meals together. Watch shows together. Go on walks, make new friends, and everything else that best friends do. You are one of a kind sister. You go a mile a minute but still manage to squeeze in plenty of love and hugs and special moments with us throughout the day.

I could go on and on about how the past year has changed me. About all that I've learned. But the overwhelming weight on my heart that I think about the most is just how grateful I am and how undeserving I am of this life. I do believe no matter how good you have it, everyone deserves time to complain on the really hard days… but I am ashamed of all of the times I've cried to your Dad or my friends about how hard it is when you keep us up at all hours of the night or won't cooperate with our schedules. FIRST WORLD PROBLEMS Peanut, because we really have it good. You are a gorgeous, healthy, active baby and we have literally every resource we'd ever need to give you a happy life. I hope I can instill in your heart how lucky we are but also how hardworking everyone in your family has been to give you the life you deserve. Now to the facts.

Weight: 21 pounds 6 ounces

Height: 2 feet, 6.5 inches (30.5 inches)

Nickames: Nor, Peatie, Peanut, P

Eating: You will only drink milk from a bottle, and have 3 a day. Always one first thing in the morning and last thing before bed, and the other some time in the afternoon. It just depends what we're doing that day. For "real" food you have breakfast at 8:00am, Lunch at 12:00pm, a snack around 3:00pm and dinner at 5:00pm.

Some of your favorites are blueberries, greek yogurt, cheese, chicken, mashed potatoes, and the occasional dessert when we left you try them. You still love puffs as a snack or to keep you busy. We gave you a whole cupcake on your first birthday and you at the entire thing, including the icing, plus some ice cream! You are also now drinking cows milk and though it's just been one day, you haven't skipped a beat thus far.

Sleeping: Slowly improving, but you still don't sleep through the night on a regular basis. We're getting there. Naps twice a day around 9:00am and 1:00pm but you are somewhat flexible. Bedtime is 7:00pm and you wake up between 6:30am and 7:00am.

Diapers: Still size 3 but I think those days may be numbered.

Clothing: In dresses or every day clothes you can fit anything from 12 months, to 18 months, and even the occasional 2T t shirt. Just depends on the cut. Pajamas are 18 months. Shoes are size 4 or 5, depending on the brand. You will tolerate most anything we put you in, but I try to keep your clothes as comfy as possible.

Social: You my friend LOVE to be social. You love when adults talk to you when we're out and about, and seem to really enjoy interacting with other babies. We've still been going to the library on Wednesdays, then a mom + baby play group on Thursdays or Fridays. Sometimes we see the same people on both days so you're really starting to recognize them and get comfortable around them. We were in swim lessons which you liked, but those were just too much of a hassle to fit in our schedule now. We will try again when you're a little older. We start a music class in two weeks which I think you will love.

You also enjoy walks around the neighborhood to stop by and play with all your neighbor friends. Still prefer Mom in most situations as opposed to other people, but some days you only want your Dad, and you are EXTREMELY fond of your Papa and Aunt Paige too. I think those two are just as good (ok, almost as good) as Mom or Dad in your eyes.

Likes: ANYTHING Mickey, specifically Mickey Mouse Clubhouse. Being outside. Walking around outside/in public on your own. Water (water table, splash pad, bath, etc), fruit, dogs, Little People toys.

Dislikes: Diaper changes, most vegetables, being in the car seat or stroller for long periods of time, having things taken away from you that you want to play with.

Firsts: So many that I am sure I'm forgetting. First cupcake at your party. First "injuries" when you run away from us outside and/or trip on the concrete- you've gotten a couple of (lightly) bloody knees. First time in a bounce house (at your birthday party).
Jessica (The Newly) said...

Happy birthday to your sweet Norah! She is so beautiful, Brittany!

Erin LFF said...

Such a sweetie! And she gets more gorgeous by the day- somehow!! Happy FIRST Norah! :)

© g squared. Made with love by The Dutch Lady Designs.