Monday, October 28, 2013

a day in the life

Our weekend was good. Friday was spent at home, you can see some pictures of that here. Saturday we cleaned, picked up some pumpkins, and went to a friend's Halloween party. I spend all of Sunday on the couch, pretty much the way I like it.

Today I wanted to share a "day in the life" of yours truly. I am always curious about other's routines, and I think this will be fun to look back on down the road.

6:15. The alarms start going off. They keep going off until about 6:45. In that time I doze in and out of sleep, let the dogs out, check emails and all my social media sites, and mentally prepare for the day. When I finally drag myself out of bed I get ready for work, pack up our lunches, and make coffee or smoothies or some type of nourishment that we can eat or drink on the go. Somestimes W gets up early (he has to leave the house a bit later than me) and takes care of the coffee and lunches. I usually get some type of extra surprise in my lunch I wouldn't have packed. One of the zillion reasons I love him.

7:20. Out the door. Or I try to be at least. My commute can be anywhere between 25 minutes to 55 minutes, all depending on traffic, so I try to leave as early as possible. Any Cincinnatians who travel on 275, you know what I'm talking about.

8:00. Arrive at work and recruit my pants off all day long. Usually I pack, but sometimes I eat breakfast or lunch at my work's bistro, because frankly it's the Other days, I just need to get out of the building to break up the day. On those days I run errands or check out stores I wouldn't be able to run to back on our side of town.

5:00. Head home. I sometimes work on the evenings and weekends from home, so I try not to spend too much time at work after hours. I am a firm believe in work life balance, so I am pretty strict on myself about accomplishing what I need to before quitting time.

5:30. Home sweet home. I spend a few minutes outside with the dogs, clean a bit, then get started on dinner. Sadly, I usually hop onto the computer after that. I like to read blogs and watch tv and just decompress. Will usually joins me on these vegetative behaviors, as long as he isn't working late. I wish I spent this time working out or being crafty or something productive, but work drains me, and I guess I'm just a little lazy. I know when we have kids I won't be able to devote as much time to my own selfish habits, so I don't feel too bad about it.

7:30ish. We eat dinner and talk about our day. The dogs run around like lunatics until we take them on a walk. I really enjoy catching up with W around this time, escp while walking our neighborhood. I love to be outside in the fresh air, and even better, no distractions from phones or computer.

8:30ish. TV time. W and I have a ton of shows that we like to watch together. Favorites include Modern Family, Meet the Goldbergs, Law and Order: SVU, Top Chef, The Killing, Mad Men, and various others.

10ish. Bed time. I am a huge baby in the sleep department, and I will essentially black out if I attempt to stay up later than this on a work night.

And then I do it all over again the next day. Thrilling, no? Pepper in a few happy hours and date nights and that about sums up my Monday through Friday. It's pretty average, but I love it.

Happy Monday!
© g squared. Made with love by The Dutch Lady Designs.